Error message

Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in _menu_load_objects() (line 579 of /home/firstcon/

In the Congregational tradition, decisions are made within each congregation in a democratic manner. There is no hierarchy of leaders who make decisions for our congregation. Every church member has a voice and a vote at annual congregational meetings. This may include voting on a Capital Campaign or calling a new pastor.

We are currently in a two-year transition, moving from six boards to three Coordination Teams:  Resource Management Team (previously Trustees and Stewardship), Inreach Coordination Team, and Outreach Coordination Team.  The Church Council is the main decision-making body, which represents the membership of First Congregational, and is made up of a Moderator, Moderator-Elect, four members at-large, and members from each of the three Coordination Teams. 

The shift in the way we structure our lay leadership is intended to empower more member participation in ministries they care about most.  Fewer members will be attending board meetings, freeing up time and energy to serve others directly.  Members are encouraged to pursue what they are passionate about, and develop a project initiative or join in on other ongoing projects.